The River Sienne, Normandy

The fishing season is finally upon us and I would like to wish everyone ‘tight lines’. The season here in Normandy began on the 10th of March, and my first outing was on my new local river, The Sienne (not to be confused with Paris’s famous River Seine).

The Sienne rises east of the town of Villedieu-les-Poêles, in the Forest of Saint Sever then meanders its 92kms northwest through Gavray, Quettreville sur Sienne and finally joins the sea at the harbour town of Regnéville-sur-Mer.

On this occasion I chose to fish near the picturesque village of Ver, which is located about 3 kms downstream from Gavray.  Since it had been such a bright day I chose an early evening outing, waiting until the sun had lost some of its strength. A ten minute drive to Ver, brought me to a lovely three arch stone bridge which spans the Sienne, from where I was able to take full advantage of the view, observing the river and its surrounding environment.


The Sienne, at this point in its course, though not particularly wide, runs relatively clear and a little high and fast. The air temperature was mild and a gentle wind was blowing downstream. There was no noticeable trout activity on the surface.  Downstream looked a more interesting proposition where both banks are lined with well-spaced trees, with an attractive chateau with extensive grounds on the right and an open field on the left.

I decided to start with a 4lb fluorocarbon monofilament fly leader with two flies; at the point a Goldhead GRHE and about two feet along, a holo cheek Diawl Bach dropper, and a leader of around eleven feet. Not wishing to offend the owners of the chateau by tramping around in their grounds in my wading boots, my evening’s fly fishing began on the left bank downstream of the bridge.

Stepping and slipping down the bank I entered the river and moved, as quietly as possible, out into the flow until I was knee deep in the river. Taking the water flow and the wind into consideration, I began casting across to the far bank and allowing the water to carry the flies down and back across the river. After a few casts I took a step down stream and re-cast. Continuing downstream in this manner enabling me to cover a lot of water.

Unfortunately, there were no bites and the water became too deep for my liking so I clambered out on the left bank, then moved downstream in search of a better fishing spot.

About 150 metres downstream I came across another bridge, a rather dilapidated stone and wooden structure.

Just beyond which I took the opportunity to re-enter the river. This spot looked nice and fishable, knee deep, rippled on the surface and with plenty of casting room.

I began to cast using the same downstream technique as before and by the second cast I had hooked my first trout of the year, on the holo cheek Diawl Bach. It was not a particularly memorable fight, but I did manage to land my first brown trout in France, even though it was rather on the small side.

Continuing to cast and move down stream, I was determined to catch the parents of my previous triumph. I managed to catch another trout, alas also smaller than I would have liked! At the end of this straight section the river turns left, at this point I took the opportunity to get out of the water. Looking at surrounding trees and fields I could see light levels had already dropped, giving way to dusk. I decided to finish for the evening and save the rest of the river for another time.

2 responses to “The River Sienne, Normandy

  1. Had the pleasure of fishing the Sienne this afternoon with the FLYFISHINGFELLA and had a most enjoyable afternoon. I caught my first brown trout, even thought I needed a magnifying glass to see it, it was a satisfying feeling. Caught 3 all told, all safely returned, they have all been instructed to tell their grandparents to come and pay me a visit. Thanks again, your new protoge had a great time.

    Mark

Leave a comment